eviction

There was a line you drew
and it felt like questioning
It probably had something
to do with destiny

I just thought I’d mention it

The paint is flaking off these walls
and I’d patch them but
it’s hard to move when there’s
mildew in these sinews

A blank cheque and rosy rhetoric

I can take a hit when it’s
punching and gouges
And good men don’t weep when
they get hung out to dry

These chambers are derelict

But I’ll evict you tomorrow
just like I said yesterday
I’ll evict you when I’ve found
a better place to stay

~~~

‘Excursions into philosophy’, Edward Hopper 1959

Leave a Reply

